British Virgin Islands The British Virgin Islands (“BVI”) are a group of 40 islands and islets located in the Caribbean 60 sea miles east of the Island of Puerto Rico. There is an estimated population of 21,000 and a land area of 153 square kilometers. The official language is English and its currency is the US dollar. The Island is an overseas territory of the British Crown Colony with a legal system based on English common law with local modifications. The United Kingdom is responsible for the defense and foreign affairs of BVI.

Highlights of BVI Companies

  • Exemption from all local taxation
  • One of the most popular off shore jurisdictions in the world.
  • Confidentiality on directors and shareholders information
  • Bear shares permitted
  • Based on English Law
  • Well developed professional infrastructure
  • British dependent territory
  • Neutral tax jurisdiction
  • Nominee Directors allowed
  • No annual accounts or returns to be filed

General Information

Type of Company IBC
Companies Law Business Companies Act 2004
Minimum Director One
Minimum Shareholder One
Bearer Shares Permitted Yes (restricted mobility)
Corporate Shareholders Yes
Corporate Directors Yes
Disclosure of Ownership No
Disclosure of Directors No
Corporate Seal Required Yes