Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands are a British Overseas Territory consisting of 3 islands in the Caribbean lying approximately 480 miles south of Miami, Florida. There is an estimated population of 50,000 and a land area of 260 square kilometers. The official language is English and its currency is the Cayman dollar which is fixed to the US dollar at CI$1.00 equals US$1.20.The primary industries are tourism and financial services. The Islands are a largely self-governing British Crown colony. Britain is responsible for internal security and defense. The legal system is based on English Common Law and is complemented by local laws.

The Islands enjoy sophisticated legal, accounting and banking services and derive political stability by virtue of their connection with Britain. The Cayman Islands have no double taxation treaties with any other part of the world.

Highlights of Cayman Companies

  • Exempt from all future taxes for a period of 20 years
  • Confidentiality on shareholders information
  • Bearer shares permitted
  • Based on English Law
  • Well developed professional infrastructure
  • British dependent territory
  • Neutral tax jurisdiction
  • Regulated financial services industry
  • No exchange controls
  • No annual accounts to be filed

General Information

Type of Company Exempt Company
Companies Law Cayman Islands Companies Law (Cap.22)
Minimum Director One
Minimum Shareholder One
Bearer Shares Permitted Yes (restricted mobility)
Corporate Shareholders Yes
Corporate Directors Yes
Disclosure of Ownership No
Disclosure of Directors No
Corporate Seal Required Yes
Annual accounts filing No
Annual returns filing Yes